Bakewell Christmas Tree Festival

Bakewell Christmas Tree Festival

Thursday 13th - Sunday 23rd December 2018

venue: All Saints Parish Church,South Church Street,Bakewell.DE45 1FB


Over the past 10 years the annual Christmas Tree Festival has celebrated the life in the community. This year about 85-90 groups, organisations, charities and businesses will be taking part.

Free admission, any donations to the church fabric fund.

The festival will begin with a short opening service at 7pm on Thursday 13th December when the tree lights will be formally switched on by Lady Edward Manners.


Thereafter the church will be open daily from 10am to 5pm and 12.30 to 5pm on Sunday. Light refreshments will be served in the Open Door cafe from 11am to 4pm and 1pm to 4pm on Sunday. The festival will close with a candlelit Community carol service at 6pm on Sunday 23 December.


During the festival, events are as follows:

Saturday 15th December: 2pm Town nativity and blessing of the crib.

Saturday 15th December: 7.30pm Bakewell Choral society carol concert.

Tickets £8 (accompanied children free) from the Visitor centre, the Bakewell bookshop or choir members)

Sunday 16 December: 1-3pm The Beekeepers instrumental group.

Sunday 16th December: 6pm Taize service.

Monday 17th December: 6pm Bakewell Infant School Christingle

Wednesday 19th December: 7.30pm Lady Manners School carol service

Friday 21stDecember: 7.30pm Informal "hooley" in the Newark room. Music and fun for all ages.

Tickets £6, including a glass of mulled wine and nibbles, available from the Bakewell bookshop, Judith Taylor (01629 321984) or Dot Bushen (01629 814496)

Sunday 23rd December: 6pm Candlelit carol service

Monday 24th December: 4pm Crib service (everyone invited to come dressed in a costume of the Nativity story)

Monday 24th December: 11.30pm Midnight Mass

Tuesday 25 December: 11am Christmas Parish Eucharist